Dem Bones, Dem Bones

20160116_200210-1_resized_1Today’s topic is Bone Broth. Wait! Before you say EEEWWW and get grossed out, remember that generations before us used bones to start a soup stock. They obviously knew more than we know, since homemade soup is not as common in these days of convenience. But those bones added much more than flavor!

It is purported that bone broth can aid in numerous health issues. Since I suffer from an auto immune disease similar to lupus, I frequently have bouts of severe joint pain and inflammation. I am trying desperately to avoid being placed on a regimen of pills with questionable side effects. So I have researched more homeopathic aids, (beyond turmeric and honey remedies), and alas…bone broth. Below are a list of potential benefits based on my research. Whether they all hold true is beyond my scope. I feel with many homeopathic remedies, you must alter the mind as well as they body to accept the positive changes.

  1. Glucosamine in bone broth is said to help with inflammation.
  2. Gelatin found in the broth is said to help heal digestive issues and leaky gut.
  3. Just like chicken soup, it is said to help improve cold and flu symptoms.
  4. The collagen should help your hair and nails improve in strength and luster.
  5. Glycines in bone broth can help remove toxins from your liver.
  6. Glycine and Proline, found in the broth, are said to help reduce auto immune issues.

So it sounds like it will help, and it certainly can’t hurt to give it a try. So I went on a quest to make my own bone broth, as it is not readily available in my area. The hardest challenge was finding bones and chicken feet (yes, I said chicken feet). These are not common items at Kroger, Publix or Wal-mart, and I do not have a farmer friend or local butcher. I finally lucked up on everything I needed at Food Depot. It’s a normal item for them, along with other items I don’t normally see, (tripe, tongue, pigs feet, ox tail…). I spent about $6 for bones and feet and about $3 on veggies as I was low on supplies.

I loaded up my two crockpots and was off.  In general, chicken broth needs to cook for 24 hours and beef for 36 hours. Slow and low people. The only issue I ran into, was my beef broth evaporated to half a crock pot in the last 12 hours while I slept. I think this was due to the size of the crockpot being much larger in circumference, allowing for more dissipation.  The good news is, bones (not chicken feet) can be used more than once. When they are soft and easily broken, it’s time to toss them out. Until then, broth away my friend. Below are links to some recipes I used and adapted.

How to Make Homemade Bone Broth from WellnessMomma.com

Chicken Feet Bone Broth from RealFoodRN.com

Now keep in mind that this was a trial, so I did not invest in bones of only grass fed cows, or organic chicken feet and organic veggies. I have not traveled down that road full flight yet. Grandma made do with what she had, and so did I.  20160116_200558-1_resized_1I did, however, invest in these nifty ice cube trays from Wal-Mart that hold a little over a third of a cup each. I have plans for these babies.

20160117_100411-1_resized_1I chose to freeze my broth, and reheat as needed, as I did not see myself downing spoon fulls of gelled bone broth each morning. Also, fresh broth only keeps 3-4 days in the fridge, but up to a year in the freezer. I could never find a “recommended dosage” as the range was from one spoon of gelled broth each morning to one quart of heated broth each day. I opted for 1/3 a cup of heated broth each day – kind of a low range goal. We’ll see how it goes.

Insights:

  1. Cooking this broth stinks, literally. Since I did one crock of beef and one crock of chicken feet at the same time, I cannot tell you which was the culprit.
  2. Only use enough water to cover the ingredients.
  3. Adding a few chicken feet to a bone stock will make it gel better and add more collagen as well as chondroitin.
  4. I did not doctor it up into a soup with a tomato base like many recipes show, as this would, in my opinion, dilute the main ingredient. I stuck to base vegetables, salt and pepper. It’s not a great tasting broth, but an acceptable broth. It’s not a competition folks. If you want to doctor it up, go for it. It’s your broth after all.
  5. I did the chicken feet once, and the beef bones twice. My yield was 40 cubes (each about 1/3 of a cup) which will last just past a month. Not bad for $9.
  6. I do not anticipate seeing or feeling results for at least 30 days. This is a natural homeopathic aid, not a pharmaceutical.
  7. My sister thinks I’m crazy and wants to erase the whole incident from her memory.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Food, Health and Beauty and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

