The Power of Three

MI-Triple-Spiral-graphicToday I am on a “threebie” mission to make things simpler for you. As you know, women love quick and easy substitutes for their favorite expensive beauty items. I have posted about making your own makeup, facial oil, body oil and many other items. But today I am going to give you three items, each made with only three ingredients. Yes, I said just three ingredients, most of which are already in your cabinets.

There are multiple posts throughout the internet for all of these items, and I have experienced enough Pinterest fails to sense your hesitation! But since you probably have the ingredients and the process is simple, it won’t cost you much money or time to give it  try.  I am sure you will be glad that you did. To give you visual aids, and to also credit where I found these, I will post links to the ones I prefer. So let’s get started.

Up first, homemade sugar scrub. I love this stuff and use it every day in the shower. It gently exfoliates and gives just the right amount of moisture without being too oily. It is so cheap and easy to make that I do not feel guilty that I go through a jar every week or two. I have very sensitive pale Irish skin and this works great for me as I can easily customize it.

Three Ingredient Sugar Scrub (click link here)
2 1/2 cups sugar (regular granular, organic, turbinado, whatever)
1/4 cup of oil (baby oil, olive oil, grapeseed oil)
1/4 cup body wash (cheap, expensive, scented, unscented, whatever)

Mix it all up and store in an airtight container in the shower. That’s it! I tend to use cheap white sugar and grapeseed oil. For the body wash, I love using the ones from Victoria’s Secret, Creighton’s Lime & Grapefruit, or any bottle I find that smells good.

Next up, luxurious lotion you can make yourself. Please note that you need to allow time to let this lotion soak in. It may feel greasy at first, but it will soak in. Also, its awesome for using after you shave.

Three Ingredient Body Lotion (click link here) NOT GLUTEN FREE
27 ounce bottle of baby lotion
(2) 4 ounce jars of Vitamin E Skin Cream*
7.5 ounce jar of vaseline**

Mix with a hand mixer until fluffy and fully blended. Store in airtight containers. What is great about this is you can customize it. Baby lotion and vaseline also come in coordinating cocoa butter and lavender scents.

* I have only found this at Wal-Mart hiding on the bottom shelf. NOTE: contains wheat germ oil!
** Don’t want to use vaseline on your body? Substitute 8 ounces of coconut oil (found in the food section). I tend to use coconut oil myself.

And to close out, makeup remover pads. The solution is also three ingredients and you can pour it onto cotton rounds or cotton balls at the time of use. Or, if you want to make it even easier, layer cotton rounds in a jar and saturate with the solution so you can just pull the rounds out ready to use.

Three Ingredient Make-up Remover (click link here)
1 cup water
1 1/2 Tbsp. no tear baby shampoo
1/8 tsp baby oil (or olive or grapeseed)

Mix and store in a bottle or layer in a jar with cotton rounds. Now, I have found this works great on my facial makeup, but not on my mascara. I think it all depends on what type of mascara you use. But, since you are using no tear shampoo, it is gentle enough to use on your eye makeup.

Well, that’s it. Three simple 3 ingredient substitutes that work great and won’t break your wallet. I hope you enjoy these as much as I do!

This entry was posted in Health and Beauty and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

