Let’s Make Up

20150215_111721_resizedFor close to a year now, I have been mixing my own powder foundation, translucent powder and make-up setting spray. I have been thoroughly happy with the results and no one has remarked that my makeup looks bad. Trust me. I have a sister and friends that will happily let me know if there is food in my teeth, if my clothes don’t match, or if my face looks bad. The savings have been amazing. I used to pay $18 to $24 for a small container of Bare Minerals Foundation, and ditto for the translucent powder. Makeup setting spray can run anywhere between $9 and $18 depending on the brand.  To make these at home, I spent less than $25 for all of the supplies for all three products. I have made the makeup and powder twice now and have used less than 1/8 of my supplies. I make the setting spray more frequently because I make it in small batches. I have used maybe 1/4 of my supplies in a year. Below are the recipes I have been using. I believe I found all of them on Pinterest and will credit the links.

Foundation Powder – Thank You Live Simply
1/4 cup of arrowroot powder (or 3 Tbsp arrowroot and 1 Tbsp baby powder)
1 to 4 Tbsp cocoa powder (fair skin start with 1 Tbsp)
1/4 tsp nutmeg (really fair skin, substitute ginger here)
1/4 tsp ginger
1 tsp cinnamon (optional as it may irritate sensitive skin)
2 tsp bentonite clay
10 drops Vitamin E oil (or 3 capsules)
12 drops lavender essential oil
Optional: 1/8 tsp turmeric if you need a more yellow base. Test after initial batch is made.

Mix together all of the dry ingredients. Keep adding cocoa and spices until you reach your shade. The easiest way to do this is to place current makeup on your wrist or the back of your hand. If you think the shade is close, apply new powder nearby and use as a comparison. Once you have reached the correct shade, add in the lavender and vitamin e. Store in a baby food jar or mason jelly jar with a tight lid. I use glass, not plastic, due to the essential oils and I think it keeps better. And since I’m female, I do it because it looks nice in a mason jelly jar and travels well.

I know you have questions regarding some of the ingredients. Arrowroot powder is usually found in the health food/gluten free aisle at your grocery. A 1lb bag cost me less than $5 at Kroger and you only need 1/4 of a cup. Freeze the remainder. Bentonite clay can be found at most health food stores, but it is cheapest at Wal-Mart.  Even if you have to order it online from them it runs about $4-$8 less than the health food stores. It is a large container (around 1 lb for less than $5), considering you only need 2 teaspoons for this recipe. But it is also great for facial masks, healing clays, detox baths and some tooth powder recipes. I guarantee you will find multiple uses for it.

Keep in mind that this is not a heavy foundation offering a lot of coverage. Like Bare Minerals and similar products, it serves to cover minimal flaws and enhance your natural skin. It is not a concealer.

Translucent Powder Veil – Thank You Jillee
1/2 Tbsp cornstarch
1 tsp baby powder
1/8 tsp powder foundation

Mix well and done.  You will probably want to double or triple this recipe if you like it. Store in an airtight container.

Makeup Setting Spray Thank You Vix Of All Trades
1 part aloe gel
3 parts water
5-6 drops essential oil (lavender, rose, rose geranium – your choosing)

Combine all ingredients in a small spray container (like the small travel size spray bottles in the cosmetic section at Wal-Mart) and shake well to combine. Shake well before each use.

For the aloe gel, you can go all out and buy the expensive “pure” gels at a health food store. Or you can do what I do. Buy the ginormous bottle of aloe gel that they sell near the sunscreen lotion during the summer. Just make sure it is only aloe – NO LIDOCAINE.

Well, that is my cheap cheat blog for now. I hope that some of you find this useful.

This entry was posted in Health and Beauty and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

