Oh Susie Q!

Some of my fondest memories are of the kitchen at my Aunt Susie’s house where she taught me and my sister how to cook. Now Aunt Susie had three boys, so she showered us with girly affection whenever we were lucky enough to stay with her after school. We would play Barbies and dress them up in outfits she made for us.  We would giggle and fix our hair. But best of all, we would learn to bake! Mistakes were made and laughed off and eaten anyway.  What an awesome Aunt! The two favorites that have been staples in our family are Aunt Susie’s brownies and peach cobbler.

Now, having gone gluten free, I have experimented with these recipes so many times that I fear I have added 10 more pounds to my waist and hips!  I have finally come as close as I think is possible.  Now, these recipes my not be in the style you are accustomed to so let me let you in on how we do things.   The brownies are more cake like and rich with cocoa instead of chewy with gooey chocolate.  This is not chocolate overload.  This is a warm and comforting cocoa blanket of love.  The cobbler is not peaches on bottom and flaky crust on top.  It is more like a fluffy biscuit ensconced with buttery peach delight.  And the best part is the gooey dough that did not rise because it was too saturated with butter and peach syrup.  Nirvana.  This has been the hardest part to duplicate and my results have been 50/50 on the gooey delight meter.  I am not telling you that our family recipes are the best in the world.  I am telling you they are the best in the world to us because each bite recalls a memory of family, a flashback of times long gone but cherished. But enough reminiscing, here are the recipes.

Aunt Susie’s Brownies Go Gluten Free
3/4 cup gluten free flour blend*
1/2 tsp. xantham gum
3/4 tsp. baking powder
1 cup sugar
5 Tbsp. cocoa
1/2 tsp. salt
1 stick of butter  (Use the real stuff.  Come on! It’s brownies for Pete’s sake!)
2 eggs, beaten and at room temperature
1 tsp. vanilla

Mix all of the dry ingredients together thoroughly.  Melt the butter and add to the mixture. Add eggs then vanilla.  Mix by hand. This is important because with gluten free baking, over mixing with an electric mixer can cause a gooey mess that does not rise. Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes

Now I prefer mine plain or with powdered sugar. But if you need frosting, feel free to top with your own favorite frosting recipe.

Aunt Susie’s Peach Cobbler Goes Gluten Free

1 stick of real butter (This is not Weight Watchers folks!)
1 can of sliced peaches in heavy syrup (Syrup people, not juice!)
3/4 cup gluten free flour blend*
1/4 teaspoon xantham gum
3/4 tsp. baking soda
3/4 cup sugar
1 dash of salt
3/4 cup milk

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Melt the butter in a 2 quart casserole dish.  Mix in the canned peaches (or any canned fruit) with all the syrup. In a separate bowl, thoroughly mix together all the dry ingredients. Mix in the milk.  Pour this mixture on top of the fruit. Under penalty of death, DO NOT STIR.  Bake at 400 degrees on bottom rack 20 minutes until browned, and then on top rack for 20 minutes. You may need to eyeball whether or not it is done.

* Gluten Free Flour Blend – see Welcome To Drury Lane post here
2 cups white rice flour (I personally use the brown though)
2/3 cup potato starch
1/3 cup tapioca starch

 

I hope you enjoy these recipes as much as I do. And a special thanks to my beloved Aunt Susie for all the good times! I love you!

 

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

