Take a Powder

tooth2Did you know that some toothpastes have hidden gluten? Some companies even line the tubes with flour or other glutenous items to help the paste leave the tube easier.  This was a shocker to me.  And since that liner is not listed as an “ingredient”, you may open yourself up to potential risks if you need to avoid gluten.  You can always research each product before buying it.  But as soon as it becomes “new” or “improved” you have to research it again. Since I already have to research my food so much, I was exasperated at having to add health and beauty items to that list.  Plus, I was tired of paying $4 for a small tube for Tom’s!

So I remembered that my dentist uses baking soda, not toothpaste or a compound, to clean my teeth whenever I go in.  If it is good enough for the dentist then who am I to argue?   So just to make sure, I asked my dental hygienist at my last visit and they agreed it would be fine.  Fluoride was not really an issue as it is in the water supply in ample amounts for my needs.

So I researched and sampled several recipes for homemade toothpaste.  Due to expenses and shelf life, I decided I liked the tooth powder recipes far better than the tooth paste recipes.  Plus there is that ongoing web war over using glycerin in the homemade toothpastes that was just to crazy for me to even address.

Now you know you can probably get away with using plain old baking soda, but where’s the fun in that?  I am female, therefore I must improve on what already works. Plus you know I am going to find a way to use those essential oils.

Homemade Tooth Powder #1 (for healthier gums)

2/3 cup baking soda
1 tsp fine sea salt (optional, adds scrubbing element)
5 drops tea tree essential oil
5 drops clove essential oil

Homemade Tooth Powder #2 (for fresher breath)

2/3 cup baking soda
1 tsp fine sea salt (optional, adds scrubbing element)
10-15 drops peppermint oil (NOT extract)

Mix all ingredients together and store in a sealed glass jar.  A small mason jam jar or baby food jar would work fine. To use, dampen your tooth brush and dip it in the powder.  Or you could place it in a glass syrup or honey dispenser and pour or shake it on your dampened toothbrush.

For whiter teeth, you can swish with a small amount of hydrogen peroxide. DO NOT SWALLOW!!

P.S.   I buy my essential oils here.

This entry was posted in Health and Beauty and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

