It’s a Slippery Slope

grape3

Today I thought I would address the issue of body moisturizers.  Having sensitive skin, overly fragranced and inexpensive lotions not only irritate my skin, but also fail to provide any true moisture.  Which is a shame, as some of them smell fantastic. I have bought expensive “extreme relief” moisturizers for sensitive skin that supposedly can turn a seasoned fisherman’s skin as soft as a baby’s butt. However, it must be a baby rhino’s butt because they have offered me only a temporary fix.  They feel fantastic for an hour or so but by the end of the day I am dry skinned yet again.  Some swear by Avon’s Skin So Soft oil or any baby oil applied in or right out of the shower. Having tried this I can only compare it to how it must feel to play on a slip and slide covered in Crisco. Not being the best balanced of creatures, I could only see a potential and embarrassing 911 call in my future. Heck, they are on my speed dial.  So what is a girl to do? After seeing news articles, hearing things on tv and searching the web, I decided to try natural oils – yes oils.

Who knew that there was such a thing as “dry” oils – not I.  These oils absorb quickly into the skin and do not leave excess or greasy residue. The favorite dry oil I tried was grapeseed oil (cold pressed extra virgin) that can be found in the common grocery or retail store. Oh me oh my. I applied sparingly and rubbed diligently into my arms first. It all absorbed and my arms felt smooth and soft. Did it last all day – yes! Did I smell like a line cook – no! My daughter even asked if I had shaved my arms to make them that smooth – alas I did not have to go to that extreme. Many people use olive oil but I have found it to be heavier and much slower to absorb – for me personally anyway.

Now that I have forayed into using oil as a moisturizer, I have done what I typically do – I have become obsessed! I have blended different oils together.  I have added essential oils (a love of mine).  I have purchased enough little brown bottles over the internet that I fear Homeland Security is tracking me. Don’t get me wrong, the plain grapeseed oil works great by itself. But I am female – therefore I cannot leave well enough alone.  I must tinker and toy with it.  Don’t deny it – you do too!

So here is the basic recipe I have settled on after many trials. I did not add any essential oils that would fragrance the base oils so that I could wear my favorite perfumes without fear of strange mingling scents.*  However, feel free to experiment – lavender or sandalwood would make great starting points as they smell great and are both very beneficial to the skin.

One 4 ounce amber glass jar with lid
3 ounces grapeseed oil
1 ounce jojoba oil
16 drops carrot seed oil (shake well after each drop)
1/2 teaspoon vitamin E oil (nutrient plus it helps oil from going rancid)

*The carrot seed oil does lend a hint of musky scent to the mix, but it is mild and fades.

Store away from heat and direct light.

You could experiment with argan oil, rosehip seed oil, sea buckthorn and essential oils that are great for skin issues. I tend to stick with this basic batch because it is effective and relatively inexpensive. I save the costlier items for my facial oil (which we will get to at another time).

Note:  This is where I buy my essential oils and bottles. The bottles are cheap and I like that I can buy just a little essential oil or a lot as needed. The samples are great when trying new recipes and 20-30 drops go a long way.

Go grapeseed!

This entry was posted in Health and Beauty and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

