HONEY DO!

honey2Okay, I know there are literally a million uses for honey.  It is healthy for you inside and out. It has wonderful antibacterial and anti-inflammatory properties. It can be used in foods, on wounds, as a treatment for sore throats and allergies.  The list is endless. What is my favorite new use – face wash. Pure, simple and safe!

Let me give you a little background here. I am of mixed Irish descent and inherited their special gift of pale sensitive skin. Most face washes dried my face out or left me red and patchy. My solution was to use Neutrogena, Cetaphil or Lubriderm products. As you know, these are not that cheap. However, they did clean my face and they did not irritate my skin.  Then add in the wheat allergy and other new constantly developing irritants playing leapfrog with my immune system. So I set a new goal for 2013.  I was looking to go more natural, purer and safer. I aimed to eliminate anything I could not spell or pronounce.  I feared I would be left with watter wahter water.

Voila – the honey solution! (Thank you crunchybetty.com)

Place 1 teaspoon of honey in the palm of your hand. Sprinkle with a fair amount of baking soda. Add a touch of warm water, rub hands together and apply to face. Gently scrub then rinse. Your skin is clean and fresh. The honey cleansed with its antibacterial agents, soothed and moisturized your face. The baking soda acted as a gentle exfoliator.

If you want to tone, use Apple Cider Vinegar diluted on a cotton round. (Yeah yeah don’t even get me started on apple cider vinegar. I think you could survive the apocalypse and even Walkers if you were only armed with ACV, baking soda and hydrogen peroxide.)

The only downfall I have noticed is that it cleans so well that it removes my eyebrow dye. (Remember – pale Irish descent. If I do not dye my eyebrows they cease to exist and I look like a bad version of the Wooly Willy game – if you are old enough to remember that.)

So if you’re game, put that little honey bear to a new use.

This entry was posted in Health and Beauty and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

